## January 27, 2025

The Honorable Ted Cruz
Chairman
Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation
Dirksen Senate Office Building, Room 554
Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Maria Cantwell Ranking Member Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation Russell Senate Office Building, Room 254 Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Cruz and Ranking Member Cantwell,

We, the undersigned associations and groups, write to express our strong support for the nomination of Mr. Michael Kratsios to serve as Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP).

Mr. Kratsios possesses extensive experience and a profound understanding of the pivotal role innovation plays in maintaining and advancing America's global leadership. As Chief Technology Officer of the United States during the previous administration, he spearheaded the development of critical policies aimed at ensuring American dominance in emerging industries. His tenure was marked by a commitment to fostering technological advancements that enhance U.S. competitiveness and by a demonstrated capacity for collaborative, bipartisan engagement.

Notably, Mr. Kratsios led national initiatives in artificial intelligence, quantum computing, and broadband, including efforts to drive the next generation of connectivity. He was the architect of the American Al Initiative, the national strategy for promoting American leadership in Al, and oversaw the implementation of the bipartisan National Quantum Initiative Act, including the establishment of a new National Quantum Coordination Office in the White House. Additionally, he led efforts to integrate drones into the national airspace system and launched the COVID-19 High Performance Computing Consortium to accelerate scientific discovery in the fight against the virus.

Upon confirmation, we are confident that Mr. Kratsios will continue to drive essential technology initiatives that bolster U.S. leadership, support the American workforce, and secure prosperity and security for all citizens.

At this pivotal moment for emerging technologies, Mr. Kratsios stands out as an exemplary choice to lead OSTP. We respectfully urge the Committee to expedite his review and confirmation for this vital role.

Sincerely,

Morgan Reed President

ACT | The App Association

Susan Miller President and CEO

ATIS | Alliance for Telecommunications

**Industry Solutions** 

**Brian Darmody** 

Chief Strategy Officer

AURP | Association of University

Research Parks

Victoria Espinel

CEO

**Business Software Alliance** 

The Honorable Deborah L. Wince-Smith

President and CEO

Council on Competitiveness

**Matt Schruers** 

President and CEO

Computer & Communications Industry

Association

Gary Shapiro

CEO and Vice Chair

Consumer Technology Association

Meredith Attwell Baker President and CEO

**CTIA** 

Zach Graves
Executive Director

Foundation for American Innovation

Christian Dawson Executive Director

Internet Infrastructure Coalition

The Honorable Chip Pickering

CEO

**INCOMPAS** 

Jason Oxman

President and CEO

Information Technology Industry Council

Coach Kathy Kemper Founder and CEO Institute for Education

Paul Sanberg President

National Academy of Inventors

Bobby Franklin

CEO

**National Venture Capital Association** 

Julius Krein Chair of Board of Directors New American Industrial Alliance

John Neuffer President and CEO Semiconductor Industry Association

Linda Moore President and CEO TechNet

Elizabeth A. Hyman CEO XR Association